I haven’t managed to find as much time as I would have liked to get out into the garden lately (despite desperately waiting for spring to arrive), however even without my help the garden is creating its own little beautiful display of spring flowers. I have to chuckle to myself as the bulbs come up – it feels like it’s been so long since I planted them and already I’ve forgotten where I planted them. This leads to “oh yeah, I remember putting that there” type moments… a little more often than is probably normal for my age…

The first year I tried bulbs, I planted 2 tulips and a daffodil in a row picturing how lovely they all would look together once they flowered. To my bitter disappointment, each flower picked a different week in spring to flower and all were eaten by aphids and snails within 2 days. So I never had my nice display of bulbs I was hoping for. Angrily I remember saying to my Mum that “I’m never planting bulbs again!”… She just laughed and said “yes you will.” My Mum will also love it when I tell the world – she was right.

Gradually I think I’ve become a bit more savvy with bulbs – I tend to grab specials as I’ve found even if planted a bit late the majority will still flower.  I also now go for more robust types of bulbs that tend to flower for longer. Often mistaken for poppies by my neighbours, the ranunculi I’ve planted tend to give lots of bright flowers for weeks and weeks. They seem to have so much power for such little bulbs! Rather than standard tulips I’ve been trying to grab more unusual ones late in season when they’re on sale (e.g. this year I found parrot tulips for $1 each) – and almost all have flowered. Other highlights include the weeping cherry that’s starting to flower, the broad bean flowers (which most people wouldn’t count in their spring flowers but I particularly like them), the ever faithful nasturtiums as well as the blueberries which continue to flower. So the spring overhaul is yet to come – but for now, hope you enjoy what I’ve had the pleasure of looking at over the last couple of weeks.

My twin tulip

Parrot tulip

Nasturtium

Ranunculus

Ranunculus

Broad bean flowers

Cherry blossom in flower

I’m not the only one enjoying the spring flowers & sunshine…

