Is pumpkins. Not just any pumpkins – but home grown pumpkins. Due to the small space I have, pumpkins seen to have always eluded me. I get so jealous seeing rambling pumpkins in other people’s huge blocks… I’ve tried each year to grow standard pumpkins, but they seem to never thrive without the space required to roam free. One year I grew small space pumpkins called “Wee B Little” – which were very cute, but once opened were 98% seeds. Really nothing to eat.

Wee B Little Pumpkin

Wee B Little Pumpkin

This year with my expanding backyard plot, I thought it was worth giving pumpkins another go. This year I planted “Golden Nugget” which is recommended for smaller spaces, but hopefully larger pumpkins than what I’ve had previously.

Golden Nugget

Golden Nugget plant growing well and developing a pumpkin

...almost ready....

The plants have taken off really well, and so close to Christmas it seems my wish is coming true – pumpkins have started to form! One is even ready to harvest – just in time for Christmas lunch. I anticipate cutting it open Christmas morning for roasting will be like opening a present – ever hopeful for enough flesh to eat. Fingers crossed…

GN pump 6

GN pump 8

Merry Christmas everyone! Hope you all have a great day 🙂

