Have you ever forgotten about something in the garden? From holidays, to busy work schedules or simply from being distracted? Well this happened to me despite regularly being out in the garden – I completely missed that my broad bean flowers had been fertilized and beans had formed!

It was quite exciting to suddenly have something to harvest! I usually watch and wait for things to ripen similar to watching paint dry. I prefer to pick my broad beans at smaller sizes than you’d ever find in the supermarket as I find they are a lot sweeter, and can usually turn any broad-bean-hater into an instant fan. Only small harvests so far – but when I can have a small harvest every few days, that’s all I need. Now all that’s left is to decide what to cook! If you have any favourite broad bean recipes/ideas let me know.

 

