Apologies for the delay in another post – but I’ve been venturing overseas looking for amazing gardens to show you! Ok so maybe that’s not entirely true – I’ve been on holiday in Japan for a couple of weeks. However the gardens I did see while there were amazing and completely different to mine so I thought I’d share some with you.

Ryoanji Temple Zen Garden

In Ryoanji Temple in Kyoto lies this massive Zen Garden. It’s 25m long, and while nothing like my garden style, you just have to appreciate the simplicity and neatness of the garden creating a beautiful sight.

 

Ginkakuji Temple (Kyoto)

Ginkakuji Temple garden

In a lot of the temples and gardens we visited, there were people carefully replanting and taking care of moss – and when you see the outcome you can understand how much effort is being put in!

 

While I thought we would have been too early to see any blossom trees in flower (cherry blossom season in Japan is late March-April), I was extremely fortunate to find that apricot and plum trees flower early when I happened to stumble across this orchard when visiting Osaka Castle. The photos simply do not do it justice – it was breathtaking and hours were lost simply wondering through the trees (wishing I had my SLR camera to compete with all the other photographers….)

 

 

 

 

Osaka Castle

As for my own garden I’ve come back to what feels like a complete overgrown mess! It’s amazing how quickly weeds can take over (especially in our backyard where there’s no real “garden” as of yet – weeds reign supreme). Luckily it is a sunny day outside – the compost bins are overflowing with rich goodness, and my first round of worm tea (from my new worm farm) is now ready for me to use as well. So out I go preparing for the next instalment!

