My very first tomato seedlings

My first love in the garden was, and still is, tomatoes. One of those original packets of seeds I spoke about in my introductions was cherry tomatoes. Knowing nothing about gardening at that stage I germinated almost the entire packet of seeds and ended up with over 30 tomato plants. Advanced gardeners would have picked out the strongest seedlings, but I was just so excited that I had grown something that I nurtured every single seedling and they all lived and thrived. Everyone received tomato plants for Christmas that year (which I still feel was a pretty good present!) and I received updates on how the plants were doing, and even photos of the tomatoes in salads which was just beautiful. Until then I never realised the pure indulgence and incredible taste of the home grown tomato.

Last year however, despite my efforts I really ended up with minimal tomatoes. (I prefer to blame it on the very wet summer Melbourne had, it makes me feel better…. ) However on the upside the zucchini plants provided us with enough zucchinis to last an entire year (fresh, frozen and preserved).

This year I put my concentrations back into tomatoes, now one of my favourite vegetables. Nurturing seedlings, checking plants every few days to make sure they were growing and supported correctly. Looking back – I may have over done it a tad… my garden now feels like the land of tomatoes!

Regular harvest size

 

I am still not sure why each season results in completely different harvest outcomes (any comments or advice would be helpful!). My zucchini plants look healthy and have grown big, but have produced a disappointing amount of fruit this year compared to last year. The tomatoes on the other hand have thrived this year. Eaten daily in salads or recipes I am nowhere near running out.

Trying my best to eat as many as possible, I have been left with the worry they would go off faster than I am able to eat them. Which only means one thing – preserving! Last weekend I made tomato chutney – a personal favourite of mine. It’s the easiest recipe – put ingredients in a saucepan for half an hour, stirring occasionally. After sitting for a month, the flavour is unbelievable. For me, preserving adds colour to cold winter days, reminding me of the beauty that was the summer garden.  For people that like chutney they make great gifts too.  I also made a tomato soup to freeze for winter, however I doubt it will last that long before I’ll eat it….

